Asset Custom Fields

Steve Giller

Are there any custom fields available when creating a new Asset Type?

I spotted this from build 1013: As an Asset Administrator I would like additional asset attributes added against the existing Asset Classes {CH00142844} but I'm assuming that added some static fields rather than custom fields.

We have some laptop trolleys holding multiple devices that we want to store as assets, but I'm being asked for information such as "Is the trolley bookable?" which don't appear to be available.

Hi @DeadMeatGF

The approach we have with assets is that we ask customers to let us know if there are additional asset attributes and we look to collate these and add new one's in quarterly. 

This way we can (overtime) build up definitive asset Classes where customers can then choose which attributes to use on their asset types against asset classes.

So if you can let us know what attributes and which classes you are looking for we can look to get these considered for the next round of attributes to be updated. 

The same is true if we need to consider additional asset classes.

Obviously any additional asset attributes won't pollute customers existing asset types as the new asset attributes  will be off by default and the asset manager users would have to choose to introduce them against their asset types if they wanted to use them

Hope that makes sense

Steve

Thanks @Steven Boardman

The attributes I've been asked for are:

• Bookable: Yes/No.
  • Owner: (This needs to be able to be a department or an individual, or free text)
  • Manufacturer:
  • Model:
  • Capacity: (Number of device bays)
  • Static: Yes/No (some trolleys can be moved from room to room, some are in a fixed location)
  • Device Type: The device the trolley houses.
  • Lock Code: (personally I'm not keen on this, it's potentially a security risk)

Thanks @DeadMeatGF

Some of these attributes are already available:

* Manufacturer 

* Model