ITOM - inventory discovery Virtual Server

Hi, I'm very new to ITOM, we only installed the service a few weeks ago so we can start to utilise some on premise AD automation in some of our processes. My colleague has set up a virtual server for this purpose and installed Site Integration Services, AD web services and AD PowerShell module. The server has been paired up with SIS and all looks okay, but, when I've added an IT Automation node into a new process (to add a user to a group), I get the following when it comes to this point in the process when I do a test request:

The specified computer 'xxxxx' was not found in the inventory so cannot be used as a target for an IT Automation job...

I obviously need to discover/import the server into Hornbill but I can't figure out how to discover a virtual server. Is it possible? I'm still not sure whether I've got the right identifier/name in for the group or if the variable I've used to get the customer info is right either, but I can't test any of it fully till I get over this bit. 

If anyone's got experience of this or done a similar setup, I'd really appreciate any advice on how to proceed. Thanks.

@JanS2000 It's certainly possible to discover a virtual server, and you can use the SIS virtual server as the target for your IT Automation jobs.

As a first step, you'll need to set up and run a Discovery Job - Hornbill . That will only need to use a Manual List - Hornbill of one computer - the SIS server itself. Once that is discovered, then you can go into the Inventory - Hornbill and mark the discovered server as Managed.

In order to run the discovery job, you will need a KeySafe - Hornbill entry of type 'Username + password' that contains valid credentials to connect to the server.

Graham

• Thanks 1

Thanks @Graham, I tried creating a manual list but kept getting an error. I'll have a look at those links and give it a try, thank you.