Service Portal - Customers logging incidents instead of requests

Shamaila.Yousaf

Apologies if this is a basic question, I am relatively new to Service Manager.

Our Service Portal is due be opened to our users sometime soon, at present we will only be making 2 services available - both of which are incidents.  If our users log an incident call which is in actual fact a request, what would be the best way forward for the Service Desk? 

Any advice would be mostly appreciated.

Regards

Hi Shamaila,

I am not sure I understand your question? You have two services, both of which will log an incident and presumably assign to your support team?

Can you expand on this?  

"If our users log an incident call which is in actual fact a request, what would be the best way forward for the Service Desk?"

@shamaila.yousaf when you say request, I believe you're referring to the 'Service Request' request type? If that's the case, then this was addressed as part of the latest version of Service Manager which was made available in the app store this morning (2.37).

We have Service Requests defined on the system - they appear to have been switched to Draft.
Assuming this is deliberate, then the expectation can only be to treat everything as an incident for the initial deployment phase, and there is neither a need nor an option to change from one to the other.

• Like 1

Hi @Shamaila Yousaf

I believe Chaz was referring to an issue where the request type for a ticket was incorrectly being set, and this has now been resolved.