Hornbill testing before releasing updates?

Hi all.

I work in IT for too much long. Yes, too much really (punch cards still existed "live" when I began).

I remember the first times MS Windows released patches or new Windows versions, I was enthusiastic and applied those patches or updated my OS right the way. Then, after applying those patches or installing a new OS for a few times, I've learned that it would be better to wait until all the bugs were solved and decided to install all the stuff after all the issues were solved after being handled by other people.

In Hornbill it happened the same while we could apply the patches and updates when we wanted to do so. I always waited some days before applying a new patch or release.

Now, all the patches and updates are mandatory, automatic and unattended and you know what? I came back to those times when I installed a new MS Windows patch or version right the way.

Just to say that, whenever I receive an email from Hornbill notifying me that a new patch has been applied, my immediate thought is: now what? Which new issues will appear with this new release?

Please, Hornbill: make more testing in new releases and patches before making them live. Create a beta testing environment for your main customers to test the new releases and patches before applying them live.

Your customer base will thank you.

Alberto

@Alberto M

Thanks for your comments and thoughts.  I wanted to reply because I think its worth keeping things in context.  We at Hornbill more than anyone feel the pain when things go wrong, today and yesterday have been particularly difficult days to manage because a couple of impactful things have gone wrong, and mostly when things go wrong these are due to change, the big thing for most IT people to face.  Its a balance, change and risk breaking things, or leave a long and become outdated.