Jump to content

Users unable to reopen a call in Resolved Status


Adrian Simpkins
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hi,

On our current live instance of Hornbill named MEHT, it appears that the Users have lost the function to reopen a call whilst it is in a Resolved status (normally shows the reopen option when selecting the Resolve button). I have looked through the settings as I thought it might just be something that has been turned off in error but could not locate it. Can anyone confirm if this funciton is a setting within Service Manager Settings, and if so which setting it would be please?

Many thanks

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Victor

The User(s) have the below roles allocated - they are advising me that this function seemed to be no longer available from about 6 months ago. Copy of their roles in below screenshot - the roles seem to match the expected from the webpage https://wiki.hornbill.com/index.php/What_Service_Manager_Roles_exist%3F

 

UserRoles.PNG.81faac870c683fd90c598379695dfaf5.PNG

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Victor,

Sorry forgot to attach the below - this is what the User is seeing on the Resolution tab.

One thing I have noted is that this instance has not had an update since January (build 1401) so I was not sure if this could be affecting it.

Thanks

1359833841_Reopenoption.PNG.26a97299746887435364ddaf68f128e6.PNG

UserRoles.PNG

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@Adrian Simpkins unfortunately, the Service Request User and Incident Management User roles does not grant user rights to reopen requests... :( 

https://wiki.hornbill.com/index.php/Service_Manager_Roles

You would need to either grant them Incident/Service Request Full Access role or create a custom role for this purpose. Mind you the full access role might give users more rights than one might want to...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi @Adrian Simpkins

Something that you may want to consider is building this into your BPM workflow on a request.  This way you wont need to adjust any of your rights or roles.  As part of a "Resolution Stage" you could have options after a request is either Resolved or Closed where you have a suspend operation that is waiting for some form of update to the request which will instigate the automatic re-opening of the request.  Possibly a task to for owner of the request to confirm with the customer that the resolution has worked.  Rather than just letting someone re-open a request for any old reason, you can provide more control with the circumstances that a request can be re-opened.  

It is common practice to only re-open requests that have been recently closed.  You could use an expiry so that after a few days the suspend node ends and that request can no longer be re-opened and a new request needs to be raised. 

Regards,

James

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Victor/James

Thanks for the update, I can only presume that previously the Users were granted this role as they are all adamant they could reopen requests! Unfortunately I was not involved in this instance until recently, and I don't think anything has been documented as to the changes made to roles / settings etc !

I will let them know it is only something the Manager of the team should have, or I will look to create a specific role.

As an aside I already have plans in place to update their scripts to flow as suggested by you James, thank you for the pointer !

Many thanks

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...
On 4/25/2019 at 7:52 AM, Adrian Simpkins said:

Hi Victor/James

Thanks for the update, I can only presume that previously the Users were granted this role as they are all adamant they could reopen requests! Unfortunately I was not involved in this instance until recently, and I don't think anything has been documented as to the changes made to roles / settings etc !

I will let them know it is only something the Manager of the team should have, or I will look to create a specific role.

As an aside I already have plans in place to update their scripts to flow as suggested by you James, thank you for the pointer !

Many thanks

@Adrian Simpkins we created a custom role that only allowed the reopen function instead of giving full access to the request type and called it "reopen allowed".

Mike.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...