Cannot assign Organistion to Contact

Steve Giller

We're probably going to have to start supporting a partner organisation, and I believe the best way to manage this would be as Contacts.
I've tried to follow the Wiki for adding a Customer, but I when I try and add an Organisation it does not recognise the Org I've created for them; or any Orgs, for that matter!

I imagine, as it's my first attempt, that I'm doing something wrong, but if someone could tell me what it is I'd be grateful!

Hi @DeadMeatGF,

You can either add first the organisation and then assign a contact to it or create a contact and assign that to the organisation. The video in the WiKi is a bit old and there are many new capabilities but the way to do it is the same.

Did you try going to the contact and assign it to the correct organisation?

Can you please let me know if you see an error message?

Thank you,

Daniel

Ahh, no @DeadMeatGF,

The Organisational Data is different than Organisations. Organisational Data is the internal Organisation Structure, that will be for departments and teams creation and to that you can assign users or basic users.

Organisation (in the Collaboration Core) is used to hold contacts (external).

Hope that makes sense.

Daniel.

Following on from this - I'm either missing a setting or not reading an instruction (or understanding things) correctly, but how do I get an external contact to see their subscribed services in the Customer Portal?
I can log a job for them as an analyst, but when they log into the Customer Portal  they only get the home page.