Jump to content
clampj

Change Default Action from Resolve to Update

Recommended Posts

Hi

Sure this will be a quick answer.  how do we change the defaulted action on a ticket?  At the moment when an analyst opens a logged ticket, the defaulted option is the resolve action.  Can we change this to default to update?  We update more than we resolve.

Tried searching the forum but cant find anything advising how its done.

Thanks

J

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi @clampj

Thanks for your post.  The Update Action is typically the default action but it might be that you have a Suspend operation in your BPM that is switching the action.  In your case you may have a Suspend and wait for resolution operation in your BPM that is changing this focus.

image.png

Let us know if this helps.

Regards,

James

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@clampj the Action focus can be set in the business process and you can change this via the business process nodes - so it maybe that you have your processes in a suspend awaiting resolution state and chosen the resolve action item to focus on as shown here:

image.png

The default for the suspend await resolution option is resolve so you would see this in that example, but on a number of the process options you will see an Action Focus option which will all have a default, but if you change the Auto to Manual you will be able to pick your preference from the drop down

Hope that helps

Steve

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Both

Thanks for prompt response - I thought it might be somewhere in the business process but could've spent ages tryignt o find it.

I've updated that now.  Will calls already logged pick up the change or will it be new calls only?  Not a problem either way, just so I can advise colleagues.

Thanks

J

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
26 minutes ago, clampj said:

Will calls already logged pick up the change or will it be new calls only?

@clampj when a request is created, a copy of the BP configuration existing at the time of request creation (called BP instance) is created. A BP instance can't be updated retroactively it will stay the same (an admin can manually change this using specific functionality but is not done automatically). So, this is the loooong answer :) ... The short answer is: new calls only ;) 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×