Jump to content

Human Tasks - description being added into Timeline on completion


Recommended Posts

Since a recent Service Manager update (we are now on build 979) the full text of the human task/activity is now being added into the timeline when the it is marked as completed along with the 'Reason' text.

As some of out human tasks have quite long descriptions to cover the actions/procedures involved this is making the timeline unreadable as the actual reason (text entered into when completing the task) and the outcome are pushed to the bottom of the update and not visible without using the show more option.

There is no need to include the full description of the task when recording it completion on the timeline as it is shown in the completed activities. 

Is there an option to turn this off either as a system wide setting or on the human task node in the BPM itself?

If not can this be raised as a urgent change request.

Cheers

Martyn

Link to post
Share on other sites

@Victor

Thanks that would be a great help. We have quite lone process descriptions in the human tasks which are not appropriate in our case to be shown in the timeline.

I can see where this could be used, but I think the option would be best to done at the BPM node level if possible so you can decided per tasks whether you want the dull description inserting in the the timeline.

Cheers

Martyn

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi @Martyn Houghton,

Thank you for sharing your concern. We added the description of an Activity to the Timeline, as this was a popular enhancement request by Hornbill users. In essence, the purpose of this is to improve the audibility of Activities within the Timeline. A number of Hornbill users felt that the Timeline entry does not present itself with adequate details about an Activity, without the need to click away to open the Activity pop-up.

Here's an example where I've over-populated the description. I can see that the Timeline entry provides me with the option to "Show More" or "Show Less" to keep the content within limit.

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 14.05.41.png

Now, I understand that this is causing you inconvenience and I guess in your case, the content of an Activity's description is typically pretty involved. I have asked the team to provide their thoughts on this. Perhaps we can control this behaviour via an Application Setting. We will get back to you as soon as possible.

Thanks,

Ehsan

Link to post
Share on other sites

@Ehsan

Thanks, the issue is that they can be customer view-able if the timeline entry is set to be customer visible,  as is in our workflow for all our existing requests.

I need to make a decision if I need to update all my human tasks in the BPM to sanitise the activity descriptions, but this would still only mitigate it for new requests after the change where made, therefore if you can give me an idea of a timescale if and when setting will be available.

Cheers

Martyn

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi @Martyn Houghton,

I've added the following Application Setting to hide the description of an Activity from the Timeline entry that is created on completion. Please note that this Application Setting will be enabled by default (so please turn it off) and this will only apply to Activities that are completed after you next update the Service Manager App.

Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 11.37.49.png

We're hoping to make the next update of the Service Manager App available on Tuesday (20th June).

Thanks,

Ehsan

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...